Skip to content

BurdaStyle Top Picks :: Week of 2/15-2/21

February 22, 2010

I hope your weekend was enjoyable!   I went to Seattle on Saturday for my first BurdaStyle Sewing Club meeting which was fun for me!  There were about 7 of us and I met Christina and she showed us how to do bound buttonholes.  Afterwards we all had a pattern giveaway and although I wasn’t able to get rid of any of my castoffs, I did come home with a grocery sack full of new ones for me! I tried to be very picky, but I think I still might have taken more than I’ll ever sew up. However, free is a very good price, so I’m not feeling too guilty about it :)

Anyway, here again are my favorite BurdaStyle projects from this past week. These are garments that I particularly like and would love to wear myself. I usually just “favorite” them on BurdaStyle, but I’ve decided to make it a regular thing to feature them on my blog so I could share the inspiration and applaud the talent of the people who made them!

Oh–by the way, I have prepared a giveaway in celebration of my bloggiversary last month and will be posting about it this week, so be sure to check back for that!!

***

post-valentine’s day dress
by elegantmusings

Casey does it again.  Classic 40’s elegance!  I love everything about this dress.

***

Spring Jacket
by Nina Hellend Sortland

Personally, I could do without the bow (she did make it detachable so she can remove it when the mood strikes her), but I love the colors, the seaming at the waist and the satin touches.  A perfect Spring coat!

***

Ruby Shorts, Version 2.0
by chelsesaurus.rex

These black denim shorts are just too cute!  I’ve been wanting to make a pair of Ruby shorts myself, but haven’t got around to it yet.  I like the single pintucks down the front and the turned-up cuffs.  Click on the link to see the star embroidery on the back pockets!

***

Ombred Silk
by tiramisusan

Gorgeous color!

***

Lilac Blossom Top, sewn completely by hand
by LaTulipeNoir

With her sewing machine temporarily out of commission, she sewed up this top by hand!  I love the fabric and the ruffles :)

***

Twinkle Sews Next Big Thing dress
by veryprairie

I think I just like the style of this photo almost as much as the dress!  Great neckline detail and the fabric is such a beautiful color.  Be sure to check out her blog, too!

***

 

Blouse of Summer Dreaming
by Nina Hellend Sortland

The collar, the buttons, the color, the contrasting satin bib!  Lovely.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 22, 2010 11:38 am

    Aw… thank you ever so much for including my red dress in the round up–I’m so honored! :)

    ♥ Casey
    blog | elegantmusings.com

  2. February 22, 2010 1:38 pm

    Thanks so much for the feature!

  3. February 26, 2010 8:01 pm

    What a fine-looking group of garments! Thank you for including me among them!

Leave a Reply

