Skip to content

Birthdays

February 9, 2010

My friend Heather and I have been friends since we were 3 years old and were born just 4 days apart from each other.  This year I made her a fabric book cover for her birthday using Mai’s tutorial.  I also embroidered her initials on the front and used one of our favorite fabrics,  Echino Bird to Hang linen by Etsuko Furuya.  Love!!  The only change I made to the pattern was to use a piece of elastic in the back since I didn’t have any cotton tape on hand.  I gave it a little tension so it would hold tight to the book cover.

It turned out really well!  The only issue I have with it is that when you make something like this you have to have a certain book in mind.  Book sizes vary so much that you’re basically making one cover to fit just one book.  I cut out the pattern according to Mai’s measurements, but if I make it again I’ll cut it quite a bit bigger.  Although, I did manage to find a good book to slip into it to give to Heather :)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2010 9:07 am

    Your book cover is beautiful! I love the elastic idea. That is great, and so practical. I know that the fabric is one you love so the fact that you would make something for someone else out of it is so generous and loving. That’s my girl!

  2. February 11, 2010 3:17 pm

    I love the fabric choices! And adding the initials–so great!

  3. Heather permalink
    February 13, 2010 12:41 am

    Thank you again! I love it :-D

Trackbacks

  1. Giveaway :: Personalized Fabric Book Cover « TrailerTreasure

Leave a Reply

