Skip to content

Haiti

January 20, 2010

My cousin Amanda has a dear, long-time friend named Sarah.  Growing up, whenever I visited the family in California and Amanda and I went out somewhere, Sarah almost always met up with us to hang out.  She was such a fun person to be around and had a really sweet personality.  About 6 years ago, Sarah moved to Haiti as a missionary and fell in love, married, and continued to work in Haiti with the Youth With a Mission (YWAM) organization.

That was about all I knew of her when the earthquake hit last week and every day since I haven’t been able to stop thinking about her, wondering if she’s ok.  Yesterday, I thought to search for her name on the internet and I came across this article in the Fresno Bee.  Amazing!  Due to pregnancy concerns, she and her husband, Peterson, had come back to the States to deliver their new baby girl just a week before the earthquake struck.  A decision that most likely saved their lives.

I also found the ABC Fresno news video and learned that Peterson still has family unaccounted for back home.  He left by himself Saturday morning and is in Haiti right now helping with relief efforts and checking on his extended family.  Amanda responded to my emails and said, “You can be praying for him and Sarah as she’s here with a new little one. It’s a hard separation.”

Through all the natural disasters of the last decade, none have really impacted me as much as this one and I think it’s mainly because there’s just two degrees of separation from it for me.  My thoughts and prayers are with them right now.  We’re all hoping some good can come of this terrible event.

***

If you feel inclined, please help Sarah and Peterson and Youth With a Mission as they begin to help recover and rebuild by donating to YWAM’s Haiti relief fund.

Or donate to American Red Cross by texting “Haiti” on your mobile phone to 90999 and $10 will be donated and added to your next monthly phone bill (see Red Cross’ blog post about this program here).

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

