Skip to content

Grandma’s Quilt Complete!

January 11, 2010

This one gave me issues.  I finished it the day before Christmas and as I was pulling it out of the machine after the last quilting stitch I noticed that some of the squares were unravelling and pulling away.

One of the tablecloths I used is very loosely woven and the quilt was starting to fall apart.  So I kept the quilt at home and didn’t mention anything to Grandma all day on Christmas (I gave her one of the pillows so she wouldn’t notice I didn’t have anything for her).

I spent all last week sewing around every single square that was in that particular fabric and ran it through the washing machine and dryer.  I held my breath the whole time, but it came out beautifully!  So these pictures show it in its best form*.  Unfortunately, when Grandma opened it and unfolded it there were two squares nearly completely hanging off!  So frustrating. My guess is just the action of it rubbing against itself as she unfolded it cause some to come loose.  She loved it anyway, of course, and I told her to hang onto until the next time I see her when I can fix it again.  I’m going to get some fusible interfacing or something similar so I can just iron it down since stitching is obviously not working.

I originally quilted it in a zigzag pattern and then when I had to go over it again, the random squares were added and I actually like this better.  It ties the back and the front together more.  I used a flannel sheet for the backing, the binding, and the border around the front.

Other than the unravelling issues, I really love how this looks!  It’s just beautiful.  It’s a little heavy from all the layers and it’s nice and warm.  A perfect nap quilt :)  And it’s even more special that it was made out of Grandma’s old tablecloths.

*(I’m sorry for the poor lighting in these photos.  This is the only place in the house where I can spread stuff out and have natural light.  I wanted to photograph it outside, but it was much too wet.  I’m sure you get the general idea of what it looks like, though.)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 11, 2010 10:30 pm

    That’s lovely! How frustrating about the unravelling, though.

  2. January 12, 2010 4:52 pm

    Absolutely lovely! I love how pale it is–gives it such an elegant look.
    Hope you get the unraveling sorted out.

  3. Aunt Kiki permalink
    January 25, 2010 12:44 am

    It’s beautiful, Erin, and Grandmas loves it! What a thoughtful way to give back to her something she had to give up.

Leave a Reply

