Skip to content

Pillow Luxe

December 10, 2009




I found this (silk?) remnant at Joann’s the last time I went and at $7 it was a bit pricey for a remnant, but I fell in love with the colors and the texture.  It’s so smooth and shiny and cool to the touch.  And it’s wonderfully versatile with the reverse colors on either side and the beautiful border design.  Frays like nobody’s business, though.  I used a seam finisher around the raw edges on the inside.  It also helped at the top for sewing on the buttons which were from my stash and match the golden color perfectly!

The pillow is 16″x16″ and I made my own insert with some poly-fil and brown mystery fabric that I have tons of.  There’s a little bit of the indian fabric left over, but not enough to make another large pillow with it.  I’m going to hang on to it and wait for inspiration to strike again :)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 10, 2009 2:42 pm

    Ooh, very luxurious. And such pretty colors.

  2. December 11, 2009 5:07 pm

    Hi Erin, Thanks for the comment on my blog earlier today. Though I might hold you to making that quilt! I’m seriously considering a fabric shopping trip this weekend…

    best,
    Meghan

  3. December 12, 2009 12:58 pm

    Lovely pillow! Nice work!

Leave a Reply

