Skip to content

Commissioned Cloak Complete! (Cool…)

October 31, 2009

008

All done!  And I am really pleased with how it turned out.  There were a couple firsts for me in this cloak.

First buttonhole.  I added two buttonholes at the neckline, one on each side, to feed a tie through (I used my trusty Janome to create the buttonholes–so easy!  I see more in my future).  I originally wanted to buy some black ribbon to use around the neckline, but the last two nights I was at the fabric store the place was a madhouse, so I opted to come straight home after work and make my own!  I pulled some black, non-stretchy fabric out of my stash and sewed up a strip, fed it through the buttonholes, and tied off the ends.

009

Man, that flannel really picks up the cat hair!  I need to find my sticky roller…

Another first was the lining!  I did a bagged lining and am no longer intimidated.  After doing this cloak, I seriously think I could do a coat.

021

There were two bags leftover, so I used one to create an inside pocket.  I left it completely intact and left the drawstrings at the top so he can pull it closed.

I created the whole cloak in a way to keep the sewn together bags and the lining in a rectangle, so if he wants, I can pull it all apart and create a quilt or a blanket out of it.

017

Feeling pretty proud of this one :)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 2, 2009 12:10 pm

    As you should. It looks great!

  2. November 9, 2009 6:47 pm

    Wow. You are no joke. Neither is the guy who requested this. It turned out to be really amazing. I must admit, I had my doubts at first… Way to go on this one!

Leave a Reply

