Skip to content

Commissioned

October 26, 2009

A few months ago, we were visiting a bartender friend of ours and one of us happened to mention that I like to sew.  Our friend got really excited and asked me if I’d be willing to make his Halloween costume for him this year.

He had been saving all the bags that the Crown Royal whiskey bottles come in and he had about 50 saved up with the intention of turning them into a cloak.  He had been wondering how he was going to have it made, so it was fortunate for him that I had the skill!  And he was willing to pay me for my time :)

010

These are the bags.  I cut off the bottoms, then straight up the back, and cut off the drawstring top.  Then I ironed them as flat as possible and cut them into rectangles, and sewed them into columns ten rectangles long.  J is the same size, so it will be easy to fit as I sew.

005

I won’t have enough bags to make a complete cloak, so I’m going to swing by the fabric store tonight and pick up a couple yards of black felt and maybe some shiny gold material for accent.  I’m putting it together as I go and have a general idea of how I want it to look, so we’ll see how it turns out!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Aunt Sharon permalink
    October 26, 2009 10:56 am

    Hi there,
    I love coming here and seeing all the things you two are doing. What a fun creative life you are living there. And pretty surroundings too.
    Love you bunches,
    Aunt Sharon

  2. October 27, 2009 11:06 am

    Very cool! Good luck finishing it up. : )

  3. October 28, 2009 6:32 pm

    Wow, aren’t you the creative diva!

Leave a Reply

