Skip to content

Cannin’ and Jammin’: Take Two

October 12, 2009

Remember when my friend Heather came over and we spent an afternoon making Apple Blackberry jam?  Well, after all that work, the jam never set up right, so last week I popped off all the lids, poured everything into a couple saucepans, and tried to thicken it up some more on the stove.

Unfortunately, instead of boiling and thickening, it splattered all over my stovetop and burned to the bottom of the pans.  I had to throw it all out.

But!  I had a chance to redeem myself this weekend with a small bucket of concord grapes and a package of pectin.

I borrowed Heather’s stockpot and food mill on Sunday and spent a couple hours making grape jelly.  The whole house smelled heavenly and this time everything thickened up just the way it was supposed to.  I ended up with six and a half 8 oz. jars.

I just hope it tastes good.  In my cooking haste, I failed to test the brew, so a few hours later I cracked open the half-filled jar and dipped a finger in… Not bad!  Probably could have used a little more sugar, but it’s not bad at all.

Now let’s hope it sets up…

Cooking 104

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 14, 2009 11:32 am

    Looks yummy!

Leave a Reply

