Skip to content

In the Pink

July 30, 2009

I am busy finishing up Quilt No. 2 this week. Sorry, no pictures to show. The batteries on my camera died and I didn’t have the energy to hunt down new ones. So I’m giving you some other people’s pink quilts that I like (click on pics for link to source).

Putting on the Pink Quilt by Quiltsalad on Flickr

Putting on the Pink Quilt by Quiltsalad on Flickr

So far I am 3/4 of the way done with the top. I’m using ribbon as sashing in parts of it and I keep running out of it! I think I’ve bought about 15 yards of it so far. I ran out again last night, so I’m taking a trip to the fabric store again for more.

The deadline is Saturday afternoon. I will be finishing the top tonight and hopefully have enough time to cut out the back, too. Friday night will be sewing the back together, sandwiching, and quilting. Saturday morning will be binding. Very similar to what I ended up doing on Quilt No. 1 and it worked out well–very little rushing :)

Traditional Hawaiian Quilt

Traditional Hawaiian Quilt

The design for this one is fairly simple (at least much more simple than the last one), so the whole process has gone very quickly! I estimate that I’ve put in about 4 days of work so far and I’m already near completion. Quilt No. 1 took me 4 weeks. I had about 300 pieces to sew together and this one only has about 40.

pink chocolate baby quilt by motionary on Flickr

pink chocolate baby quilt by motionary on Flickr

It’s looking really pretty! I wish I could show pictures. You’ll definitely have the full shot of it on Monday, though! It’s turning out exactly how I had planned, so I’m very pleased :)

And to combat the girliness of all the pink, I bought a nice neutral for the back that ties in well with the colorway. I’m looking forward to showing it off!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

