Skip to content

Lady Sunbeam

July 22, 2009

Sewing 123

I realize this one has nothing to do with sewing, but I saw it lying on the table at the estate sale and in the end I just couldn’t pass it up.  It’s too cool!

Sewing 129

Sewing 125

If you look closely at the top picture it says “For Legs” just below the razor on the front.  And if you flip it around it says “For Underarms” on the back.

This little Lady does double-duty, folks.

Sewing 132

I plugged it in to give it a test run.  The plug did not fit into the outlet all the way, but it did connect just enough to turn it on.

And let me tell you, it is LOUD and it vibrates so much that my hand was tingling for the next several minutes after I turned it off.

Sewing 133

But it does work!  My three-day old armpit hair can attest to it… (TMI?)

However, it’s so obnoxious that I will most likely never use it.

Sewing 134

I searched Lady Sunbeam Electric Razer on the internet and figured out that it was made in the 1950’s.  In fact, there’s a site that lists a whole bunch of electric razors from that time period!  Mine is very similar to this aqua beauty.

In my search, I also noticed that the detail and femininity of some of these are just amazing. Here’s a gorgeous blue peacock one and another that has a detail that looks like the inside of a sea shell.  They really don’t make them like they used to.

I found mine in pink and white as well.  And from what I tell by other people’s pictures, mine is in near pristine condition and has all the parts.

Again, it’s kind of like the thread… I don’t know what use it is to me, but it sure is fun to know that I have it :)

***

(This week I’m showing off some vintage sewing finds that I purchased at an estate sale last week. I took home just a fraction of what this lady had!)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

