Skip to content

Need some thread?

July 21, 2009

Sewing 160

Sewing 161

Cause I got some.

I’m beginning to wonder if there really is a point to collecting old things.  It is really fun to find something like this, a treasure trove of thread, or a shoebox filled with needles, but it’s pretty useless when you think about it!

Most of this thread I will likely never use.  Some of it is just too old to trust.  I’ve been sewing up Quilt No. 2 this week and I poked around in this case to look for the right color I needed, but I ended up using regular white thread that I had plenty of and had just bought about a month ago.  I could have used a handful of a different kind, but I just don’t know if it will be strong enough!  Who knows how long it’s been sitting around in that plastic box. It’s old, possibly dirty, definitely musty and I feel kind of icky using it.

Some of the thread here looks new and several are still in cellophane wrapping and while I’ll probably use those, I’m just not sure what to do with the rest of it.

I will admit, though, it is pretty fun to look through and gives me a sense of security knowing that if I really needed it, I could have any color at my disposal.

And I also think just the container itself is a pretty awesome setup! Worth the $8 spent, I’d say.

***

(This week I’m showing off some vintage sewing finds that I purchased at an estate sale last week.  I took home just a fraction of what this lady had!)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

