Skip to content

This Week’s Faves… #15

May 28, 2009

Sewing 010

I ordered a walking foot for my Janome from Ebay last Friday and it arrived very promptly in the mail on Tuesday!  I haven’t had a chance to try attaching it to my machine yet, but I am looking forward to trying it out.

I also bought the fabric off Ebay for Quilt No. 2 and I’m so excited for it to come. I’m going with a bright blue and green, tropical theme since the couple getting married are Hawaiian and live in Honolulu. I found some beautiful Kaffe Fosset and Amy Butler fabric that will be just perfect! Of course, I’ll share pics as soon as the packages arrive :)

Sewing 015

Much progress was made on Quilt No. 1 over the holiday weekend.  I finished all the blocks and layed them out across our bed.  Then realized I was short one whole block.  Math was never my strong suit.  So I sewed together what I could and finished the center arrangement and half of the border.

IT’S SO PRETTY!!

I’m also embroidering the couple’s married initials in one corner (more on that later) and I was able to finish stitching the outline of the letters.  I’m resisting the urge to keep it a secret and I’m showing you some sneak peeks :)  You’re welcome.

Sewing 016

All that’s left to do to finish the quilt top is make another block, sew the rest of the blocks together, cut out and sew together the sashing, and finish the embroidery.

I still haven’t decided what to do about the back. I had made some design changes after I had started sewing everything together and will end up with a good amount of the flowered fabric left over, so I may piece something together with that and pieces of the solid fabric.  I’ll have to keep it simple, though, since I’ll be quilting the whole thing by stitching in the ditch and I want it to look nice and clean on the back as well as the front. I’m thinking about doing stripes or rectangular blocks across the length or width of the quilt. We’ll see what I come up with since it really depends on how much fabric I have to work with.

I have been finding a lot of inspiration and instruction through other quilting blogs this week!

  • I really like the modern take Willy-Nilly has with her quilts.  The colors she uses are so bright and cheerful and some of the prints she finds are really fun.
  • Oh, Fransson! has instructions that I find really clear and informative.  I’ve been having questions about sandwiching and binding and she made it totally understandable!  She doesn’t leave out a single step, so someone as inexperienced as me can feel confident taking on those tasks. (I also love her Clothesline quilt!)
  • I did quite a bit of research before starting on the embroidery and found Primrose Design‘s Stitch School indespensible (found along the right side of her blog).  Lots of pictures and detailed information!  Very helpful.

Now for something entirely different.  A few videos I’ve found and enjoyed!

Back to work for me!  Have a good weekend!

~ Erin

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 29, 2009 1:35 pm

    Thanks for your kind words about my work!

Leave a Reply

