Skip to content

Knitter-ific!

May 20, 2009

Look what I accidentally found at the thrift store!

055

I was looking at sewing patterns and found these needles buried under everything.  Then I poked around even more to see what else was there and found just one lonely skein of yarn, worsted 4 ply in “Sugar and Spice.” 

056

Not exactly my style (colors or texture), but it will do to learn with.

057

The needles are size 6 US, but they were a little crooked, so J. hammered them as straight as he could for me.  However, this yarn recommends size 8 needles, so we’ll see how this goes.

I did a little research since I know little-to-none about knitting and found there are very little patterns that I can find for worsted yarn and size 6 needles.  In fact,  I have yet to find a pattern for just size 6 at all.  Which probably explains why these were the only needles left on the thrift store shelf.

Sigh.

I did knit a 3″ x 1″ piece last night and got the garter and purl stitches down and was soon bored to tears.  I also figured out how to cast on and off, so I think I’m prepared enough to try something bigger and more interesting.  I don’t especially want to knit a plain old scarf because that’s boring and a typical newbie move, so I have my heart set on either a moebius cowl or an easy hat.

I have signed up for Ravelry and am awaiting acceptance into their exclusive club.  Once I am in, I’m going to peruse their patterns for any possibilities.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 20, 2009 7:49 am

    Hi there! Was tag surfing and saw your post; if you are just learning to knit, you will love Ravelry.
    As for what to do with your thrift store find: that isn’t my favorite kind of yarn, but you could make a hat, maybe a beanie. The yarn will soften up after you knit it if you run it through the washer and dryer with your regular laundry. I would wait and use a nicer yarn for a cowl, something that will drape.
    Anyway: have fun!

    • Erin permalink*
      May 20, 2009 8:07 am

      Good tip on the washing! That yarn is too scratchy for my liking and I do think a hat would be best at this point, too. I would rather make a cowl out of some nice lacy material. Thanks for stopping by! :)

  2. May 22, 2009 6:03 pm

    Not crazy about the yarn either, but good practice stuff.
    I love your alliteration in your last sentence!

Leave a Reply

