Skip to content

Thinking blue…

March 18, 2009

***

0113

I’ve had this fabric for several months now.  It’s a bedsheet I found at the thrift store.  I really like the big blue flowers and the sketchy black lines.  I’ve been wanting to make a dress with it, but not totally sure of what type of dress.  Finally, last night I decided to stop stalling and just make something, so I got out my February issue of Burda WOF and started tracing out the pattern pieces for this dress:

 0132

The pattern calls for a fabric that “holds its own,” so I’m wondering how it will turn out with this thin cotton.  I’ll definitely need to wear a slip under it and I’m making it about 8 inches longer.

I’ve been really drawn to blue lately!  Yes, I did just paint our bedroom green, but I really like blue, too!  At the Sewing & Stitchery expo I kept gravitating towards the blue fabric and buttons and things, Ooohing and Ahhing over how much I love the color.  Remember the color of the only piece of fabric I bought there? :)

Anyway, I didn’t get very far with tracing the dress pattern last night.  I’m having to do it on the hard, linoleum floor because we don’t have a table I can use that is large enough to spread out, so I can only trace for so long!

~ Erin

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

