Skip to content

Flouncy Dot Top

April 21, 2010

Done!  Finished in two Saturdays.  I really like this top.  This fabric is perfect for warm weather.  It’s very cool to the touch and drapes nicely.

I used French seams at the shoulders and sides.  I love French seams!  I use them whenever possible because they’re so easy and they make a beautifully tailored finish.  Plus they create extra-strong seams.

My only complaint is that the neckline is too big, which means it dips down a little too low in the front (and the back from what I see in the pictures now) and tends to move around on the shoulders.  I don’t even have to undo the button at the back to get it on and off.  I’m on the fence about whether or not it’s appropriate for work and I have yet to wear it this week.  I would wear it with a cardigan, but the ruffles look too bulky underneath.  I may reserve this top for less professional, summertime events.

I also wasn’t able to do a proper hem because it wasn’t long enough. I only had enough to turn it up once and sew which leaves a raw edge inside.  Which is ok since it doesn’t fray too badly, but it would have been nice to do a proper hem.

I made the top in the smallest size (8) which is smaller than my body measurements, but there was 4″ of ease so I knew I would be safe.  I didn’t make any adjustments to it.  I wanted to see how it would turn out straight from the pattern and it turns out that it’s about one size too big.

Next time I make this (and I will–I really like this pattern!), I’m going to make the neckline smaller and add a couple inches to the hemline to make a nice, wide, enclosed hem.

One of the other views of this pattern does have a higher neckline and while it looks too high for my liking in the picture, I wonder now if it would be just right for me?  I have some striped jersey that I’m thinking of making one of the higher neckline versions with, so we’ll see how that turns out.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 22, 2010 9:42 am

    Wow, that’s gorgeous!!!

  2. Aunt Sharon permalink
    April 22, 2010 12:53 pm

    You can use some kind of seam tape to lengthen hems when you just don’t have enough, or even make your own bias tape from some other left over fabric (cut on diagonal) to give an interesting design option for facing your hem. (pretend you meant to ;))

  3. Aunt Sharon permalink
    April 22, 2010 12:54 pm

    By the way, you are sewing beautifully!!!! You make your Aunt proud!!!! :)

    • Erin permalink*
      April 22, 2010 1:16 pm

      Thanks, Aunt Sharon! :)

      I actually thought about making a very wide bias band to attach to the bottom that would fit snugly around my hips, but at that point didn’t want to go to the trouble. I may go back and just add the bias facing like you mention–I hadn’t thought of that. The fraying may get to be too much especially after I wash it.

  4. April 22, 2010 4:01 pm

    Erin, I love this top, and it looks fantastic on you! Have you tried a lacy spaghetti-strap cami under it? Aunt Sharon is right – the top is beautifully made!

    • Erin permalink*
      April 22, 2010 4:09 pm

      Thanks Mom! I have tried to wear something pretty underneath, but it just doesn’t look right with all the ruffles and the dots.

  5. April 25, 2010 7:11 am

    I’ve been trolling the sewing blogs this morning for top inspiration. Love your top, and I’m off to cut it out now. Thanks!

Trackbacks

  1. New Jersey (not the state) « TrailerTreasure

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

