Skip to content

Spring on my mind

April 9, 2010

I bought this pattern last Friday when I made an impromtu stop at Hancock’s.  Out of all the patterns I have, this is the first one I’ve purposely bought for a specific fabric I already have.  I had a specific style in mind and this was the closest one I could find that I could also afford.  I bought it for the draping ruffle along the neckline.  Isn’t it pretty?  It’s feminine, but not too girly.  And I like the other options, too.  This looked like a good pattern for a variety of fabrics.  It has a keyhole back with button closure.  I like buttons.

This is the fabric that I had in mind:

It’s a thrift store find and I’m not sure what kind it is.  It’s sort of crepe-y.  Rayon? Poly? A blend?  Whatever it is, I like it, but it’s kind of plain, so I want to make something that had some 3-D texture to add interest and I think it would make a great fluttery top for Spring.

I also have this fabric that would be really pretty:

It’s very sheer, though, so I would need to buy some lining for it.  This is a remnant I bought at Vogue Fabric’s stall at this year’s Sewing Expo and I have 1 3/4 yards at 60″ wide!  Not quite enough for a dress, but perfect for one or two tops.

I have so many projects running around in my head and that’s probably why I never seem to get anything done.  Too many choices!  I really need to just pick one and do it!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 12, 2010 12:05 pm

    Or a skirt!! Love the fabric.

    Twila
    blog.twilasvintageclothing.com
    twilasvintageclothing.com

  2. blazedanielle permalink
    April 20, 2010 10:41 am

    That looks great! I can’t wait to see what you do with it. I wish I could make clothes, but I’ll have to stick to pillows for now. :)

    • Erin permalink*
      April 20, 2010 10:52 am

      Thanks! I actually have finished it. I made the tank top with the flounce out of the black and white polka dot print. I’m just slow to posting about it, hehe! This is actually the first garment I’ve made to completion, so I’m feeling pretty proud of myself :)

Trackbacks

  1. New Jersey (not the state) « TrailerTreasure

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

