Skip to content

BurdaStyle Top Picks :: Week of 3/22-3/28

March 29, 2010

I just realized I didn’t blog at all last week. Whoops!  Trust me, though, there wasn’t much to report.  I have had little motivation to sew lately and I think it’s because my sewing room is overwhelming me.  Either my room is too small or I have too much stuff in there.  I think it’s the latter.  The stuff is fairly organized, but the room is dark and claustrophobic.  And there’s a pile of J’s dress shirts on the ironing board waiting to be pressed that taunts me every time I walk in there.  I think I need to permanently set up the ironing board in the living room in front of the tv so it’s not such a dreaded task.  Never have I wanted to live in a real house more than when I’m trying to find room to iron.  It’s surprising how much space is needed for it and you have to factor in being in close proximity to an electrical outlet.  Not as easy as it sounds.

***

These are garments that I particularly like and would love to wear myself. I usually just “favorite” them on BurdaStyle, but I’ve decided to make it a regular thing to feature them on my blog so I could share the inspiration and applaud the talent of the people who made them!

 

Simplicity 2614
by SewBissy

Great fit!  I almost always prefer gathers to darts when it comes to bodices.  Much prettier (and easier to do)!

***

Green Linen Spring Dress
by miss_jane_e

I have a pet peeve when it comes to homemade skirts and dresses:  how wide the hem should be.  So often I see them really tiny and they stick out like a sore thumb which screams homemade!  The first thing I noticed about this dress is the nice, wide hem at the bottom.  Makes the skirt hang much better and more evenly.  I really like the pockets, too :)

***

Natty’s Practice Pleated Tank
by NattyJane

I like pleats.  Especially on white.

***

Rossy Dress
by pitocia

My favorite detail about this dress is the design on the fabric.

***

“Izzybelle” Quilt
by bagfashionista

Doesn’t this quilt look so cozy?  The ruffled back is made with fleece.  I really like the wide binding, too.

***

 
Flowery Maxi Dress
by Suzete Williams

On my list of clothes to make myself is a maxi dress.  I really like the style of this one.  It’s more fitted than others I’ve seen which makes for a much nicer sillhouette.

***

Nadine Cropped Jacket and McCall’s 4444, summer dress
by corduroycoat

The cropped jacket is so cute!  I need to make/buy something like this, especially for spring.  All I have right now are ratty old cardigans.

That blue dress is darling!  And the red accent on the bust keeps it from being too plain. 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 29, 2010 3:47 pm

    Some of those clothes are so you! I like most of them, but I would pass on the maxi dress since I wore them all the time in the 70′s and I don’t want to go back there. The one on your blog, however, is not bad for a maxi. (I still wouldn’t wear it, but you go, girl, if you like it!) For you, I especially like the first blouse and the last jacket.
    I need help with my bathroom curtains…

  2. March 30, 2010 3:14 pm

    Thanks for featuring my chambray blouse! I’m so glad you liked it :)

    • Pitocia permalink
      April 1, 2010 6:31 am

      Hi..thanks for featuring my rossy dress.

  3. April 6, 2010 9:38 am

    thanks so much for featuring my quilt!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

