Skip to content

Grandma

October 1, 2009

vanmarterwed

This is a my Grandpa and Grandma, my mom’s parents, on their wedding day, August 30, 1941, in Opportunity, WA (now the Spokane valley).  Grandma was a month from being 24 and Grandpa was 23. (So weird to think of them as younger than me!)

At the time, Grandpa worked for the water company in Spokane and Grandma owned and operated her own beauty salon.  She was also quite the seamstress and made her wedding dress.

From what Grandma can remember, Grandpa proposed when he took her out to dinner for her birthday, October 1st.  After dinner, he said, “Happy birthday,” and pulled out a box with a ring that had a very tiny diamond.  He must have said “Will you marry me,” but she doesn’t remember because when she saw the ring she knew what it meant.  “I must have said ‘yes,’ ” she said.  She must have :)

Soon after they married, they moved to Tacoma where Grandpa could get a better paying job with Tacoma City Light and Grandma set up beauty shop again.

When I was about 11 or 12 years old, Grandma was the one whom I asked to teach me how to sew and she proceded to help me make a set of placemats for my aunt, an apron for my dad, and a fleece pullover for me!  I learned a lot during those times I spent with her and still think back to her instructions whenever I have to insert a zipper or hem anything.

Today is Grandma’s birthday, as you probably gathered from the engagement story, and she’s 92 years old!  Though she’s not as nimble as she used to be and hasn’t done hair or any sewing for several years, she’s always been a wonderfully kind and loving woman.

Happy birthday, Grandma!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2009 11:53 am

    What a super sweet story. Thank you for sharing and Happy Belated Birthday grandma!

Trackbacks

  1. BurdaStyle Top Picks :: Week of 3/1-3/7 « TrailerTreasure

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

