Skip to content

This Week’s Links… #30

September 11, 2009

I’m a sucker for any movies starring Sally Field. Steel Magnolias, Norma Rae, Mrs. Doubtfire, and Forrest Gump are so good.

And when I turned on the tv last night and flipped through the channels I found another favorite:

murphys romance

Murphy’s Romance. Of course, I’m also a sucker for anything with James Garner (Rockford, anyone?). This is such a great, feel-good movie! At least as far as I know–I wasn’t able to watch the whole thing, so I can only really attest to the “anniversary” party and Bingo scenes, but I’m pretty excited to discover it’s on instant play on Netflix, so I can see the rest of it.

alice

Another similarly styled movie is Alice Doesn’t Live Here Anymore, starring Ellen Burstyn.  It’s about a newly widowed mother who packs up her car and her son and works her way across the country, trying to earn enough money for the trip along the way until she meets the handsome and intriguing Kris Kristofferson.  Very compelling and beautifully acted (Ellen won an Oscar for her role in this movie).  Another one of my favorites :)

******

Enjoy your weekend :)

~ Erin

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

